Results of Annual General Meeting and Retirement of Directors

Shareholders are advised that all the resolutions set out in the Notice of      
Annual General Meeting were passed by the requisite majority of shareholders    
represented at the annual general meeting of Tongaat Hulett Limited held on 29  
April 2009. The special resolution is being submitted for registration at the   
Companies and Intellectual Property Registration Office.
Mr C M L Savage retired as the chairman and non-executive director at the annual
general meeting on 29 April 2009 having reached the mandatory retirement age in
terms of the company's articles of association.        
As previously announced, Mr J B Magwaza has been appointed as chairman with     
effect from 29 April 2009.
Mrs E le Roux Bradley retired as a non-executive director of the board at the   
annual general meeting on 29 April 2009 also having reached the mandatory       
retirement age in terms of the company's articles of association.   
Mr Savage and Mrs le Roux Bradley were thanked sincerely for providing their    
experience, wisdom and clear insight while serving on the board, for 28 and 21  
years respectively, and for the major contributions they have made to the       
29 April 2009  
Investec Bank Limited